Timor Leste

Hey everyone

Today is going to be a bit of a different kind of post. I have been wanting to do a post like this for a while now and have recently come back from a trip to Timor Leste so I thought it would be the perfect time. I would like to share my recent thoughts and would love for you to comment at the end of the post your thoughts as well, as I feel it will be really interesting to hear from you all.

P7050021.JPG

So it all began when I was listening to a talk by Sam Clear, he spoke about his experiences walking around parts of the world for unity. His presentation really opened my eyes as we know that there is hurt and trouble in the world that goes on everyday, but we don’t always see what is being done to stop it. It made me realise that we actually need to do something about it, even if it begins with our own communities. Just by being nicer or helping someone out you are making the world a tiny bit better. I really hope that one day there will be no more wars and I believe that if we all hope for the same thing that one day it will become a reality. I would also recommend if you somehow ever get the opportunity to attend a presentation by Sam Clear go as I found it really inspirational.

G0188561 copy.jpg

Then only recently I came back from a trip to Timor Leste. Whilst I was over there I learnt how easily we can all get caught up in our day to day lives and forget how lucky we are. The Timorese are recovering from many years of devastation rebuilding schools, houses and other infrastructures. I realised how much I have and how fortunate I am to have a life like my own. I live in a country where there is no wars and there has never been a devastating disaster that has ever directly effected my life but these people have.

P7030030 copy.jpg

I realised how lucky I am to have the house that I do and the resources around me. I have a bedroom with a bed, a wardrobe full of clothes, a heater, a fan. I have a kitchen, living room, dining room. I have clean running water that comes from a tap when I turn it on. I have realised that I should appreciate how easy my life is compared to others.

P7010368 copy.jpg

Whilst I was over there I met a girl who said when she was at school she would have to travel 7km in 1 hour so she basically had to run to school. I realised how much I take going to school and getting an education for granted. Not everyone in the world has the same opportunities to get an education as I do yet many children complain about going to school and others who do not have the opportunity’s only wish is to get an education. I visited an orphanage which is where the photo above is form. The girls there, are there because their parents died or are too poor to take care of them. It was devastating to see that parents are so poor that they are unable to provide and care for their own children.

P6260154 copy.jpg

I think the main message that I can take from the trip is that I can make a difference in the world and should appreciate what I have. The trip has made me realise how waste full I am and how much stuff I have, even though I do love going shopping and buying new things. Next time I go shopping I will think twice whether I actually need it and use recyclable bags. I have realised how much waste I make, plastic bags, wrappers, packaging and how it impacts the world, seeing plastic washes up onto their beaches and impact others environments. On the trip I also did not use my phone or any technology for 11 days and it felt amazing, we have the need to always be connected and know what is going on in other peoples lives, but it felt so good to not worry about what other people were doing and to be living in the present.

I have realised the importance of helping others because if we all shared the love and resources around we have the power to change the world.

If we are not the ones who change the world then who will?

Thank you so much for reading. If you read all of it good job, I feel like I rambled on and it has become a massive post. I have also been watching a few documentaries lately and if you are interested I would recommend watching  Minimalism which is on Netflix.

Also if you ever get the opportunity like I have or are thinking about going on a charitable or life changing experience I would highly recommend it as it truly was an amazing experience that I will never forget.

comment below as I would love to know your thoughts on this kind of subject

Thanks again xxx

 

Leave a Reply

